Technology & The Terrible Learning Curve

I’m in the market for a new phone. I know… I swore I’d never buy an iPhone 6 plus… but today I want to talk about an industry that floods us with apps. Android has invaded Africa like crazy because it’s open, user friendly, easy to customize, and it’s an OS that runs on most dual-sim phones. What about iOS? Too complicated, it’s made for rich people, you can’t share your songs with your friends and you can’t use it as an usb key, without bumping into iTunes. I get this feedback a lot. On the other side, let’s check the numbers.

Screen Shot 2015-07-20 at 1.44.36 AM

Android is an 800 pound gorilla, boasting about 78% of market share, with Google as a major sponsor.
I opened Youtube the other day and there was this ad showing a girl laughing, the wind blowing in her hair and outfit; her friend – shooting the video- asked “Ok Google what’s the wind speed in San Francisco right now?” the response was immediate. It made me smile but also saddened me: how many people know that they can throw any kind of questions at their smartphone in a snap? When I show the weather app results around me all I get is ‘Oh! this is for ‘white people’!’.

The other day, I entered the telecommunication shop, and I wanted to subscribe to a new internet deal. They had me signing a contract but the printer ran out of paper, my iPad was running -lucky me-. I scanned the contract, sent it to an app called SignEasy, wrote my signature down, inserted it to the document and sent it back to the clerk via e-mail. Amazing. Unfortunately, I know they will not start integrating it to their workflow. It’s a shame that the only format we trust in business is the almighty paper. Another story, my uncle wants to check his heart rate, but the machine he uses regularly don’t work, it’s round midnight…no batteries. Does he know that there’s an app waiting on the Google Play store to be downloaded? He could just place his finger on his smartphone’s camera sensor and get a pretty accurate result.

I think people who are well versed in tech, have the responsibility to share their knowledge with others.Teach them. Share the apps they love and spread the word around. There’s a new generation of people who just want to take selfies, text, chat, and surf the internet. That’s dangerous. Africa’s the latest to jump in the tech bandwagon, without even knowing how it’s actually working, and the ticket is so expensive. Raising awareness in schools, seminars, talk and tv shows could be a solution. Tech has changed our lives and the way we learn. It must be accessible to everyone. As there’s no change without resistance, people should start asking “Ok, this is a great device, but what it can do for me?” instead of “This device is so beautiful, is there a gold version I could buy to just show off?”.

How creative are you when it’s about using your smartphone? Which apps you use the most? Let us know in the comment section below

 

2 thoughts on “Technology & The Terrible Learning Curve

  1. Love this post! Made a lot of good points, and it’s nice to remember to be thankful to have been taught how to use new technology throughout my schooling. 🙂 Check out the app Slack, it’s a desktop app and also something for mobile. It’s a team-based production software and it’s SO user friendly! Well organized, feels good, and helps keep a team engaged and on track.

    • Thanks Naomi!
      Yeah I use slack – funny how you mentioned it – but not as much as I want to, it’s on my iPad and my Mac.
      People here don’t trust the cloud and collaborative work on the internet, that’s why we have a long way to go before reaching better management levels…

Leave a Reply

